Bushbaby Travel: Inspiring travel for life
Iguacu Falls, Credit Sheraton Iguacu

Foz do Iguaçu, Brazil

The spectacular Iguazú Falls - Foz do Iguaçu in Portuguese, and Cataratas del Iguazú in Spanish, straddle the Argentine - Brazilian border and are, not surprisingly, a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site. Facts and figures abound, but nothing prepares you for the jaw-dropping sight of these thundering falls which are both higher and wider than the perhaps more famous Niagara falls.

Iguacu Falls, Credit Sheraton Iguacu

The setting itself, amidst practically virgin rainforest, shouldn’t be overlooked and really, you need a couple of days here to do justice to it all. For unbeatable views of the falls, and an exhilarating up close boat ride (expect to get drenched) head to the Brazilian side. The highlight is surely the appropriately named ‘Devil’s Gorge’, which comprises a series of 14 falls and where the force of the water is such that there is a permanent 100ft water spray, prompting some incredible rainbows. From the Argentine side you can take a series of catwalks over the water rushing into Devil's Gorge.

sign up for inspiration and special offers

follow us on social media